BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 95

Imprisonment - Day ninety five
Wednesday 24th June 2020

Cars - 55
Motorbikes - 1
Bikes - 5
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 3
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 14.5c

Well the cars powered through the fifty barrier for the first time during imprisonment. I get the feeling that a lot of people think its all over and they can go about things as they did in the past. I think this attitude is dangerous and we are quickly heading for the second spike.

My first job today after breakfast was to fit the new blue insert to Ashley's bedhead and subsequently fit the bedhead on to the bed like all things with this wonderful bed it took just seconds to do. The blue highlights the white surround and matches the colours in his old bedroom. Not that Ashley will mind too much as long as the bed is comfy.

It was then full speed ahead with the Top Garage. Firstly I removed the radiator which is a tremendously heavy old thing but I managed to drag it off myself wearing my steel capped boots just in case as there wouldn't be much left of my foot if it slipped and hit my Crocs. The ceiling with a roller was easy work although hot as I had to close the garage up and over doors to paint the area they cover when open. The sun was shining directly on them while they were shut and being dark brown they absorbed the heat and I could not touch the inside as they were so hot. Luckily the rest of the work could be done with the doors open.

I mixed my own shade of grey for the walls using the remainder from white vinyl silk for the ceiling I mixed in some black vinyl silk giving the required colour. I was careful to add a little at a time as I didn't want it too dark. I think I got the colour about right although it did dry a little darker. I couldn't use the roller on the walls as they are roughish breeze block so I had to apply the paint with a brush. Which actually wasn't a hardship as the walls were reasonably smooth having been painted before. I had mixed just the right amount of paint with a bit to spare even though I had held back about two and a half litres of white which will me more useful in the future than grey. By about four o'clock the walls and ceiling were done and the masking removed. It was starting to look cared for again. I couldn't believe that the floor paint I ordered yesterday at 11.19am arrive at lunchtime today. Which is great as I can get the floor painted first thing tomorrow in the hope of getting the cars back in during the evening as they are not insured if they are left out overnight. With two hours to spare I gave the radiator its first coat of paint then I painted the buffers in bright red silk emulsion which I found in the shed earlier when I was looking to see if I'd any old white vinyl silk I could use. The red emulsion must be over twenty years old as it was the colour Hayden wanted his bedroom painted when he was about twelve years old. After a long stir the paint was ready and looked as if it had been bought yesterday. The buffers had been made from a hotchpotch of timber but the first coat of red made them look professionally built. They'll need a second coat as the raw wood soaked up th colour and the next coat will put the flame back in the red. It's a good job I enjoy doing all this stuff. My trouble is I can't sit at home and do nothing if I know I've got things to do. Although having said that we do relax and slob about in the evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.