BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 96

Imprisonment - Day ninety six
Thursday 25th June 2020

Cars - 30
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 4
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 2
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 17.3c

With the temperature hitting 17.3c at seven o'clock and the sun shining it was a glorious morning for an early cycle ride. I set off in Tshirt shorts and my high viz gilet. I cant remember the last time when it was possible to ride in just a Tshirt at this hour. I saw three of my old faithfulls Shorts Man Plain Jane and Paper Chick they too were all dressed in Tshirt and shorts. One of the cyclists who I must have come across before hollered as he came towards me 'we must cycle the same route'. I thought hmmm I've been riding this route for eleven years now and he's just started.

I saw red today as I gave the car stop buffers their second coat of red paint and I sprayed the Bentley jack and wheel changing tools bright red too. It was just the weather to dry them off quickly.

However I started work by painting the garage floor I wasn't going to thin the first coat as instructed by adding ten percent white spirits but I then succumbed making a thinner mix. This thin mix was easy to apply and the whole floor was finished by ten thirty. When painting floors like this I always spare a thought for Noddy and Big Ears as I recollect that my mum used to read me a story where Noddy literally painted himself into a corner using brown paint if I remember correctly. What I don't remember is how he got out. I will have to look it up I'm sure I've still got the book somewhere. Still I started at the back and made my way forward in the proper way. Whilst painting I wondered what else I could paint with the floor paint as I've got 20 litres and the first thinned down coat used very little. I'd bought 20 litres as it wasn't much more expensive than buying five. I then thought I could paint the trailer which I pull behind my tractor mower. I wish I didn't think of these things as it just gives me more to do. So next I dismantled Ashley's old mattress which could now be done as the black bin has been emptied. Taking it apart I could see why it was so uncomfortable as it had hardly any padding over the springs so poor old Ashley was sleeping on more or less a bed of nails. I then gave a second coating of paint to the buffers sprayed the Bentley tools then finally got round to painting the trailer grey. After painting it grey I think I prefer it black so I've ordered some black bitumen paint to repaint the Black Garage so when that is done I may well paint the trailer black again.

By six o'clock the bit of the garage floor which was in direct contact with the sun was dry to touch but the rest was still tacky. So insured or not the cars will have to stay out tonight with the possibility of tomorrow too as I will give the floor a second coat first thing tomorrow morning.

During the morning Ros went on her weekly shop. She said it felt more relaxed today as there was nobody outside Aldi making sure everybody stood apart and there were no queues. I presume everyone had gone to Bournemouth Beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.