Poppies

These have grown wild at the edge of the veg plot so I persuaded Mr C to leave them alone as they are such a lovely colour, a deep rich blueish red. I blipped them on my way down through the steep terraces from the back gage, returning from my walk.

I went out after breakfast as it was forecast scrocchio. I had 3 encounters on the carriage drive.
1 - 3 young people walking together who went into single file when they saw be coming. I thanked them for their consideration.
2 - a young man with a middle-aged one, walking one on each side of the track. They made no effort to move so I said “I’m a vulnerable person so I’ll just clamber into the undergrowth to keep at a distance”. “Oh thanks” they said.
3- having learned that sarcasm didn’t work, when I met 2 more men, again strung out across the track, I asked politely if you would move one behind the other and walk in line so that I could safely pass they told me they didn’t need to, as the rule was 1 metre now. ( It isn’t yet And anyway that’s just coming in so that businesses can get opened up).

It was boiling when I got back to find friend Dennis of the quadruple bypass had called to tell us he’s been diagnosed with bowel cancer. He has his pre-op assessment tomorrow and after more tests, has to self-isolate for 14 days before an operation on 17 July. He’s very positive but it’s such bad luck after only just getting the all clear from his heart consultant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.