a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Flowers of the forest

Abstract Thursday: Double Exposure - Flower's of the forest

Its been very hot for us today (the thermometer is reading 31C in the shade), and after yesterday's exertions in the heat I have been taking it very easy.  However that did give me the time to think through the double exposure challenge for this week's Abstract Thursday, as set by Inge. 

The first (background) shot is a steep bank covered in the roots of some very substantial trees.  I've deliberately gone for that dark background so that I could then add bright interest in the second shot.  

I wanted to centralise the interest in the second image, so I've waited till the late afternoon sunshine caught the penstemon, spotlighting it, with most of the rest of the bed in shadow.  I've deliberately used a filter to soften the edges of this second shot, although in hindsight I'm not sure whether or not that has actually added to the image or not, or whether it would have been better without my needing to go to that trouble.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.