Amazing Amaryllis

Another sweatingly hot day. I was inside doing an RPS Zoom workshop on Portraits.

Meantime, George, Kat and Will arrived to enjoy the fresh green grass, newly mown by Len while it was a bit cooler. Len had erected William's swing which Dad George duly inspected. I was able to get outside to say Hello a couple of times.

Len found the bench mats in the shed which were a lot more comfortable for sitting on and also the tractor and trailer that we had bought for William on Loughborough Market last year. That went down a treat.

All too soon, they had to go. The sun was moving round and it was getting steadily hotter. Plus of course I couldn't be with them.

I have another day of the workshop to go and will be glad of the break. My head feels muzzy from watching the screen all day. I shall go into the garden shortly with an ice cold G&T.

Anne from up the road went to look for the grebes this morning. She tells me that neither they nor the eggs are there. I hope the eggs hatched and that the birds are now sheltering in the reeds diving every now and then for fish. I hope to get to find out myself on Saturday. Storms are forecast for tomorrow.

As for today's photo, it's of an amaryllis that I originally started off after receiving the bulb as a present at Christmas 2018. Once it finished flowering last year, I cut off the green growth and put it outside, and forgot about it. It's been out in all weathers since then and has got thoroughly soaked with the recent rain. You will see that it had grown despite all that mistreatment and two flowers are bursting forth with two more to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.