A day in the life

By Shelling

Rarities

These last couple of nights are not very common. If you compare them with other nights over the year as a whole, they are really rare. I love them. 

It's about nine o'clock in the motionless evening and the temperature is 24 degrees celsius. The limestone slabs under my feet are warm, like a heated bathroom floor in the winter. My glass is filled with a nice Portuguese wine, crackers and tasty cheese on the side, the first cherries of the year, hand picked from the branch and some nice classical music from the bluetooth speaker. Above, the swallows catch their evening meal, the larks are singing without ever breathing and the pigeons are just generally noisy.

I love other nights as well, but these are very special. I wish you all the best.

A special greeting goes to Cabbagetree in New Zealand who is expecting the first snow any minute. That can be nice too but right now, I want to savour this moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.