Flower Friday . . . Jonquil

Uniformly grey today and gloomy.  One spot of cheer was this bulb.  I pulled a few weeds and then gave up and went inside due to lack of interest.  
Some blippers are referencing the effects of Covid in their journals and some aren't.  I see from BobsBlips it is day 94 of the UK lockdown.  In New Zealand we are living as we used to but we also are trapped on our islands and cannot leave.  I just wanted to say a thank you to all blippers who have kept on blipping throughout the various forms of lockdown.  I'm sure you have days when you are utterly sick of blipping from your own house or garden and long to move further a field.
I have the new Bob Dylan CD Rough and Rowdy Ways.  I know he is an acquired taste.  I am in love with it.  The musicians behind him are fabulous and leave lots of space for his ravaged voice to weave it's spell in rhyming couplets.  I am immersing myself in it on this winters afternoon.  Mortality and memory are threaded throughout but also life and hope.  
So happy weekend blippers despite living with Covid-19 roaming our worlds.

Mother of Muses sing for my heart
Sing of a love too soon to depart
Sing of the heroes who stood alone
Whose names are engraved on tablets of stone
Who struggled with pain so the world could go free
Mother of Muses sing for me
Sing of Sherman, Montgomery and Scott

And of Zhurkov and Patton and the battles they fought
Who cleared the path for Presley to sing
Who carved the path for Martin Luther King
Who did what they did and they went on their way
Man, I could tell their stories all day          Bob Dylan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.