Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A milestone!

I was told away back in November by Lazooligirl, when I couldn't even do a whole length of front crawl without standing up to breathe, that it would eventually all come come together and I'd be doing 50 lengths! Well, I did chuckle at that one! Hilarious.

Now, today, I DID 50 lengths. Well, 25 of the 50 metre Commonwealth Pool. When I did my 20 big lengths on Friday, I realised I could easily do another another few and prove LG right.

Actually, what LG said was that I'd soon be doing 50 lengths in half an hour! Now that IS hilarious. I'll never be that fast.

I had the Slow Lane to myself for most of the time. I could have been naughty and gone anti-clockwise if I'd wanted to. In fact, after the 50 25 lengths, I lay on my back and skulled the whole length. Took me ages. But there was nobody to get in the way of. What complete and utter luxury!

Back home, and I was ready to go out, looked out and saw a blizzard, and decided to do an indoor blip instead. But Uncle A phoned, and so I popped down to see him. His knee is playing up a bit, and he needed a few items.

He has a new iPad Mini, but hadn't got it set up. I set it up for him, and put a few vital apps on for him, so he was delighted. I know what he'll be doing this afternoon.

He then made me a cappuccino on his flash coffee machine. It's much bigger and rounder than our wee baby one. But it did make a fine cappuccino.

The day changed between bright sunshine one minute and sleety squawls the next. I didn't want to get caught in one of the squawls, and as I had my blip, I came home to read my Kindle watch Boardwalk Empire.

And to rest on my laurels, with 50 25 lengths done. I could have done more, but I was turning into a prune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.