Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Zoo Day (No 2). Almost.

The bags of coal arrived yesterday afternoon. The young delivery man appeared at the door and looked stricken.

‘It’s a palette delivery.’
‘What does that mean?’
‘It means I leave it at your gate.’

My turn to look stricken.

I had accidentally ordered 25kg bags of coal. 10 of ‘em. Not the normal 10kg bags, which are easily managed by an old biddy. 25 kg is rather heavy. The young chap took pity on me, and carried most of them in for me, although I did manage a couple. 250kg should last us a lifetime! Talk about buying in bulk...

My watch needs a new battery, so I used my phone for the time today. I was ready early and set off for the Zoo - I thought I’d have a wander round before the talk today. I popped in to see Mrs Pygmy Hippo - she who lost her wee baby last week and was so upset. She was munching away at her breakfast in the closed pen. Didn’t seem distressed any more. I suppose they’re wired just to get on with life - can’t go moping around for long.

Watched the meerkats for ages - they’re so engaging. These meerkats were born and bred in zoos, and yet they are still constantly on the look out. For what? They’re getting a brand new enclosure near the entrance.

The Sun Bears were sleeping - they always are. But the penguins were swimming around and having fun. It’ll soon be the breeding season, perhaps they were getting in trim for that.

Thought I’d use this shot of a Visayan Warty Pig. The babies are really really cute, but the adults are so off the scale ugly they’re quite beautiful. They are on the Really Endangered List. This big male had the most amazing Elvis quiff. Reminded me of the hair in American Hustle!

I kept checking the time, and noted that I was still early for the talk. I didn’t see anybody else heading into the building. I had a faint feeling that perhaps it wasn’t Tuesday. It was. Maybe the talk was over in Budongo this week? I went in to check that the adult class was on. She said yes, and I said I’d wait on the terrace. She ran out after me -

‘Do you want to go to the class?’
‘Yes, but I’m too early.’
‘No you’re not. It’s started. It’s 11.25.’

My phone said 10.20!

So I had to sneak in the back and just caught the last bit. It was all about all the amazing Conservation and Research work the RZSS is involved in around the world. It would have been a very interesting talk. Pity I missed most of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.