Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I gain a battery and a fan

The electrician to fix the shower fan was set for the afternoon, so I nipped out in the morning to get a new battery for my watch. Don’t like being without one. I splashed out and got a ‘lifetime guarantee’ - how amazing is that?

I had a wee wait, so I popped round the corner to my favourite cafe - FYUL (Food You Utterly Love). It’s taken me three or four visits to internalise the name, so I think it could be more memorable. I couldn’t resist a scone, all in the interests of blip, of course. Again. But you can see more of the quirky bits in the cafe - not only the ‘doors’ wall, but the old school floorboards with games paint lines still on them, the chairs made of tweed jackets and the mismatched furniture.

Bumped into Uncle A on the bus - he was on his way to physio, he’s been so good going twice a week for months. He enjoys it.

Back home, plucked several bits of litter from the hedge using my grabber. It's annoying enough just to see litter pushed into random hedges, but it’s infuriating when it’s MY hedge!!

Got home to find an email from the electricity folk to say that the chap had been at my house at 10.45, and I wasn’t in. No, I wasn’t in, because 10.45 is not in the afternoon… However, he was working nearby and would pop in after that job.

We’ve had the usual flurry of summer holiday suggestions in the home swaps. Mull, Reykjavik, Vancouver, London, Queensland, Andalusia, Cadiz, Florida, Cadiz, Malaga, Brighton, Mantova, York, Rome, Milan, Alicante (they want a whole year..), El Port de la Selva, Chamonix, Barcelona… and that’s just the last couple of weeks. We haven’t decided where we fancy yet.

The electrician did indeed pop in this afternoon. Literally. Poked his screwdriver into the fan, gave it a swish to make the fan whirl. And it did. Bits of dust had been making it stick. It took him about a minute. But I’ll be billed for an hour, he said, almost apologetically.

If he had lots of jobs like that in an 8 hour day, say, even three jobs and hour to allow for travel time between jobs, that would be 24 jobs at £54... That would be ... er ... HEAPS!

He’d be a millionaire in no time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.