Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fishley Sunset

Well I'd already posted for the evening (Apologies to those that had commented), when I saw a combination of low sun and cloud above about 35 minutes before sunset.  It's been so rare to see this combination that I just had to head out in the hope of a photograph.  I took my new 24-200mm Nikon Z lens that arrived yesterday to try it out.  I also went light, leaving the camera bag, attaching a filter holder and just slipping the filters case into a photo vest, 

The field I'm standing in had just had hay taken off it so was a pleasure to walk across.  I wish the same could be said for the access to the footpath off the road.  My shins are still tingling from the nettles that line each side of the narrow path!  I've missed sunrises in the last few weeks, but this made up in part for that.  The clouds packed interest and I managed to get some foreground to balance the composition.

I've put the original post as an extra.  A fledgling blackbird, that had taken our cat's interest first thing.  Thankfully it was air worthy so escaped with ease.  This was also taken with the 24-200mm, at the other end of the zoom range.

I'd remarked about how big fledglings seemed to be in comparison to their parents.  Thanks to the commenters who explained that it was partly due to the down feathers that they have when young.

Day Miles: 2.8 Miles. Total Miles: 837.3 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.