Coffee at Cafe Freida

It was busy at Cafe Freida today and we had our full complement  in attendance as well. Maggie's granddaughter, Charlie and her friend came with their American Girl dolls with custom made face masks. 

Stella was there with her mother, Andrea and her Black baby doll and a purple, er, stuffie. The dolls didn't have face masks, but Stella and her mom did.  It was hard to get a picture of Stella's tulle covered skirt and princess crown because she is a study in perpetual motion. She seems to know everyone in the place, in addition to her father and grandfather working inside, and whirled about greeting everybody.

Everybody arrived in face masks and kept them on until they had ordered their coffee retrieved it from the outside window and settled at their tables. We all talked about our current projects and plans for the weekend. There was very little pandemic talk despite the fact that the rate of infection seems to be rising daily. In fact, it seemed more like old times  than it has since  the first stay at home orders were issued on March 14.

I have given up on receiving my fabric shipment anytime soon if ever, but located two local shops that looked promising, We went to the one that overhauls and sells sewing machines as well as fabric and quilting supplies. I don't think they had what I wanted,...although I'm not entirely sure what that is...but I did get some good leads on local women who can do the quilting for me when it's done. I'll try the other one in the town of Sonoma tomorrow. 

All in all it was a very ordinary day in which we went farther from home than we have in months, saw friends and found it all quite pleasant. 

I fear that my computer is dying since the battery doesn't even last long enough for me to finish writing my blip and I've had to rewrite the whole thing for the second day in a row.  Zoom is probably taking its toll, but I'm putting off dealing with that issue for the time being....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.