Rescued purple poppy

Until a few days ago this poppy plant was growing in a crack in the pavement along the road from my house. I pulled it up, then repotted it in my yarden. The reward for my effort is this lovely bloom.

For the first time since March 11th, today I held a work meeting face-to-face! My colleague Bruce came over at lunchtime. He stayed for about an hour and half in our yard, first to eat his lunch with us, then to discuss his achievements of the past year and his plans for 2020/21.

The rest of the day was just another Friday at work in lockdown, participating in four other meetings by conference call, preparing feedback on others' work, writing and sending the weekly news update to my research group colleagues, and fielding email. There was, however, a flurry of excitement just after 3pm when a letter in the form of a PDF document hit my email in-box. It brought the news that the outcome of some work that I completed over the Easter vacation has been successful.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.