TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

And just like that...

This deserves much more than I can give at the moment.

Having summarily dispatched Crystal Palace yesterday, everything was set for Liverpool to go to nearest rivals Manchester City next week and win the league. Manchester City had a game beforehand though. They lost. And can no longer catch Liverpool, which means we are English champions (as well as European champions, European Super Cup winners, and World Champions) for the first time since 1990.

This is an unconscionably long wait for a club like Liverpool. I am absolutely delighted we have done it. Delighted.

Having watched the last 10 minutes of the Manchester City game while tidying up my paperwork, I went downstairs and told the assembled crowd of Ottawackers the news. There then followed a celebratory dinner of ribs and salad, washed down with far too many drinks.

After the family had departed for the night, I went out into the garden and communed with the dead. I had a large glass of whisky and toasted all the members of my family, all my friends who were not here to witness the event, all those who would have celebrated with me: my dad, of course, my grandparents, Sandy, Stan... there were many. 

And then I thought how football had always been the link. Even when there was bugger all to talk about, there was always football. Always Liverpool Football Club. Always a shared passion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.