Flushed with success

Today I finally sorted out the constant trickle of water running into the downstairs loo!
Having checked all the obvious things yesterday, the problem persisted so today I reluctantly dismantled the cistern which involved much cursing and grazed knuckles as I tried to get behind and disconnect things. (I wasn't willing to remove the whole loo!)
The problem started a few months ago (I think) shortly after we had a new mains stop tap fitted and the plumber needed to remove the whole thing to get at it as it's in the corner behind.
Having located the installation instructions online, I discovered that the various rubber sealing washers between the cistern and loo had been put back in the wrong order and also back to front!  Grrrrr.
Reassembling everything correctly has cured the leak!

I had hoped to go out and get a blip in between the rain showers this afternoon, but that idea has now gone down the pan, so here's a record of my struggles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.