AndrewFH

By AndrewFH

Old Family Photos

For Grandad School I photographed old photographs that I have inherited from my parents. My grandchildren's responses were interesting and surprising. The main image is the wedding of my father's parents in 1918 before the war ended. My Grandparents were Plymouth Brethren in later life, but it was a 'shotgun' wedding, which was a scandal that affected the rest of their lives. My Grandfather was also a conscientious objector but the soldiers on the right was his best friend (as I understand it), whose father helped find them a place to live and introduced them to chapel. One of my grandchildren was most concerned by the Little Bo Peep character on the left, who she consider rather sinister.
The extra photo is my Mother's Father again taken in 1918 at the Seaman's Studios in Middlesborough. He signed up to fight in the first world war underage and was injured. Written on the back, in my mother's hand writing, it says "Dad -1918 after being ill. Hospital blue uniform." My mother later told me that he suffered from depression throughout the rest of his life, which we might call PTSD. For me some of this is apparent in the image. In both cases I only found out some of the truth of their lives in recent years before my mother and my father's youngest brother died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.