Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Burst of Colour

Lockdown Day 97

Alan has an appointment at Watches of Switzerland this morning, to pick up his watch that went for repair in January. Sadly, it was due to be collected just as lockdown happened and the shop closed so he’s had to wait until now. He received an email the other day to say he could make an appointment- they’re only allowing two customers at a time, in pre-booked slots, so he took the first appointment.

We drove into Brighton, parked on Marine Parade and then walked along the seafront. While we were having to go into town, I decided to go into Boots to buy my face creams which felt like an absolute treat, and then I went to the Building Society to pay a cheque in. This is the first time I’ve been to any shop other than the supermarket, and everywhere was very quiet as it was so early, which was good. It felt very strange though with everyone wearing PPE and there being plastic screens everywhere, obviously it’s very necessary, but it does feel weird.

Anyway, I don’t plan on making a habit of going to the shops, so it was a good opportunity to do these errands. Our appointment at the jewellers was at 10.15am, and once we’d collected his watch it started to rain, so we had a very blustery walk back to the car.

I spent the rest of the day going through my photos on the laptop, and tidied up the folders then backed them up onto the external hard drives, a time consuming job that’s needed doing, and perfect for a wet day.

We decided to order an Indian takeaway tonight and our usual Indian wasn’t open for some reason, I hope they’ve not gone out of business. So we tried another one that’s also a restaurant, that I’d heard was very good. It was certainly busy, and took a while to get through on the phone, but it was worth the wait as the food was excellent.

After dinner, we decided to retire to the a palace to listen to music, and Alan commented that the sky was looking nice - The colours were amazing and seemed to come out of nowhere, and soon disappeared, but luckily I managed to capture it.

I had hoped to sit down and catch up with your journals but the time seemed to disappear again, so I’ll try and catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.