Kite Flying

Lockdown Day 96

I went to visit Irina today at Burnham Beeches in Berkshire.  Irina is one of my Brighton Skies friends and is a chemist that works at the University of Sussex - her family home is in Burnham, however she used to rent a flat in Brighton where she stayed Monday to Friday.  Due to Covid she now works from home so gave the flat up and moved back to the family home. She’s missing Brighton and all of her friends here, so really enjoyed my visit.  

It’s the longest I’ve driven since lockdown began, but it was an easy drive with no hold ups at all on the M25.  We had a lovely walk through the forest which was perfect as the temperature was 31 degrees, the only problem was that there were so many big, black, biting ants!  After our walk, we went back to Irina’s to sit in her garden as she’s prepared lunch, and she has Red Kites regularly flying over her garden.  They’re magnificent birds, which I’ve only ever seen while driving along the M40 near Oxford, so was thrilled to see this one flying so close.  They were very quick so I’m really pleased this shot came out ok!

My drive home was busier and I was tired with walking in the heat, so was glad to get home and chill in the hot tub for a while.  Then it was a usual Friday night with Chris Moyles in the Palace, followed by dinner of beef tagine.

Hope everyone’s ok and you have a good weekend.  It’s looking a bit cooler and wet which is a shame as I was hoping we could head North to visit the family, but that’s not going to be possible now as we can’t sit in the garden in the rain.  Fingers crossed for next weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.