Thinking

As I commented to another Blipper yesterday, the Estate is my place to think. Sometimes it's just random contemplation, but today I had to decide on my best strategy, given the email that arrived from China overnight. The morning itself was wet and windy, giving little scope for photos, other than more wet flowers. On my walk I met a friend who is an academic botanist, and asked him whether there were more orchids than usual, but he didn't think so. He did comment on one plant that's not normally in such profusion, and I think he was referring to yellow-rattle [see extra], adding that it was a positive measure of the quality of the environmental conditions.

This sculpture is in the niche to the right of the front door of Penicuik House, and I love its expression. It also reminds me that the Clerks were patrons of the Scottish Enlightenment, and that many of its stars must have passed in front of it. Although later than the Enlightenment, the scientist James Clerk Maxwell must also have visited the house, as he was part of the same family.

The statue (and its companion) on the portico are of druids, and were carved by "Willie Jeans" in 1776.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.