What a day

An early visit to the plot, my first job you know what ... My original framework for the squash now has so much additional bright pink baler twine zigzagging everywhere attempting to train the rascals. I never realised just how demanding allotment life can be. There are fruits so must be doing something right. I thought the Patty Pan squash would climb as well, but obviously got that wrong, & looks like I planted 3 Ushiki Kuri not 2 of each, another blunder, but I still have custard squash seed so will plant a couple more tomorrow once I've transplanted hte butternut squash seedlings. I made room for them this morning by lifting  the remaining potatoes from the row. The wind coming from the south west was very chilly, thankfully I dug out a winter woolie before I set out this morning. I tied in the rows of peas with a couple of extra supports as the forecast is for even stronger wind tomorrow. Cut the sweet peas, picked a few broad beans for tonight's dinner then headed back, just in time to put the plants out for sale. I topped & tailed the gooseberries while waiting for customers ... not 1 this morning. Thank goodness I'd posted that I would only be selling plants between 10-12noon. I dropped down to Mum's with a couple of bits of shopping & had a coffee together.
Back home for lunch, then I needed to sort the freezer contents out. Lots of veg & fruit to squeeze in somehow. A bit of jiggling about solved the problem.
A couple of jobs in the garden back home, then it was time to crack open a cider & count up the plant sales takings ..
£198 plant sales + £10 donation on my JustGiving page so a grand total of £208. I'm well chuffed with that. The next batch of cuttings already on the potting bench.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.