Get Off My Land!

Well keep off my fruit is what I'm trying to get across to any passing avian, & I think it might be working. Far quicker to create & install than a scarecrow. The dress was "a find" ... a find in the Ikea bag of clothes dumped outside the cemetery a couple of weeks back. The initial design suffered with drag created by the lining, that removed, it worked a dream. The lining torn into strips created another deterrent. A design I had seen in use on the paddy fields inThailand No birds eating the fruit as far as I can see. I think they're having far more luck on the next plot. Liz's soft fruit, loganberry, raspberry, & redcurrant bushes far tastier & less challenging to consume, although they appear to be eating the fruit on my patch and leaving the evidence. I only hope Liz does'nt think it's not me doing the scrumping. A new kid on the block is the wabbit ... I've spotted one twice as I've unlocked the allotment site early morning. I know some people on the opposite side f the site are losing a lot of their plants. I hope they don't get a whiff of my rather good looking lettuce ..

Another Japanese squash training exercise early this morning, the peas were wobbling on their framework so that needed reinforcing, I picked peas, & cut Sweet peas, the perfume heavenly, grabbed a wooden stake to display the sign that I'd not yet written advertising the event, then back to sort myself out before the plant sale starting at 10am. I begged some cardboard from the Spar shop for the signage when I grabbed the newspaper. Wrote the signage out, wrapped it a polythene bag.... yes it was raining when I awoke. The skies brightened slightly, darkened, then brightened, but fortunately apart from a couple of minutes drizzle it stayed dry.  The Rowcroft Hospice plant sale went really well, Josie came with the charity collection bucket plus some booklets about the charity,  Jorgiesmum & Carolyn came by & purchased some plants, some familiar faces from Chudleigh Knighton were walking past, spotted the sale & me, or was it me & the sale, anyway they bought a plant, plus plenty of other customers, so I've not got many left now. I've informed folks of the shortened opening hours tomorrow as I run out of plants quickly ... hopefully.

Today's Silly Saturday blip in memory of admirer.
It's been fun.
R.I.P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.