Kipsie

By Kipsie

Here comes Summer ...

when life gives you Annings fruit cider. Okay so it was pink grapefruit & pineapple flavour, very summery, not quite Pimm's but I added fresh strawberry, cucumber & mint anyway.   It felt like Summer sat on the bench in the garden enjoying the early evening sunshine,  looking down over the river Teign estuary. Ahhhh! Time to chill & reflect on the days events. Another busy day after a very sleepless night so I'm planning an early night now that I'm dog/ housesitting . My allotment is all but full, just one bed left & I've got plans for it, now it's time to give it all plenty of tlc & enjoy the fruits of my labour. Speaking of fruits the blueberries are looking really good, so I netted them this morning before the feathered residents take a fancy to them. Mean are'nt I?? He he!! Sweetpeas smelled heavenly, a patch of pot marigolds add a lovely zing of colour and provide a little nourishment for the local wildlife. I planted a block of baby seetcorn, Turk's Turban squash, butternut squash & Borlotti beans. Weeded & watered everything. The broad bean pods are filling nicely so I reckon I should be picking this time next week. Pulled some rhubarb for mum. Shifted 4 barrowfuls of top dressing compost, then headed home for breakfast. A few more jobs sorted, took mum to do her fortnightly grocery shop, went back for a coffee & Danish, then home, did the pile of ironing, then it was time to pack my bag and head down here. Yogi has been rolling in something very smelly, & I don't  mean roses :( A river trip is on the cards in the morning for him ... he loves swimming anyway so he won't mind. He's gone to bed already .. now it's my turn.

Good night folks!

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.