Holy Hoops

The weather was changeable, and swirly is the predominant word I’d use to describe the wind. It was mostly dry so I took the chance to cycle around the countryside south of Cambridge. I stopped on a bench at Hauxton Church and holily ate some beef Hula Hoops. The conditions and location really reminded me of the 2010 cycling trip to Denmark with Elizabeth and Amy where we battled strong winds and took refuge in churchyards on more than one occasion.

After reminiscing I carried on through the modern day village of Whittlesford, whose sign denotes the motto ‘stick to the trothe’. Whatever that may mean. From there I picked up one of the national cycle network routes and returned to lounge in Trumpington Meadows (pictured, moodily) where I hunkered down from the wind.

It may have been the three cans of Strongbow Dark Fruits I drank in the meadow with my friend Colin, but I didn’t perform superbly well at this week’s subsequent quiz with uni friends. Tim was the quizmaster extraordinaire and my favourite question was to name the original six weapons from the board game Cluedo. For any aficionados: lead piping, rope, candlestick, dagger, revolver and spanner.

In other news, we applied the deworming treatment to the cats today, when they were least expecting it. It’s a small pipette that has to be pressed into the base of the neck; a place where they won’t be able to lick. This was something Heidi ordered when I reported the few episodes of vomiting. That could simply be caused by excessive hair consumption, however the deworming can’t do any harm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.