BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 99

Imprisonment - Day ninety nine
Sunday 28th June 2020

Cars - 6
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 4
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 3
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 11.3c

A slightly better morning but boy was it windy. A stiff breeze always makes cycling hard work as whatever direction I go I seem to be cycling into wind and cyclists have the aerodynamics of a house brick. I did not see Crossover Man again today it may be because the road where we meet is closed. I take no notice of the signs and carry in perhaps the does as he's told.

It's taken a week to nearly complete the Top Garage when I thought it was only going to take a day. Today I gave one of the shelf racks it's second coat of dark grey and then I decided to make an extension to the car stop buffer on the left hand side of the garage. I have not done this before as the car on the left is driven in facing forward so judging the distance from the wall is easy but the other car on the right is driven in backwards and needs to be as close as possible to the wall so the buffer stops the wheels before the bodywork hits the wall. Making a buffer on the left hand side will stop any damage from happening in advertantly when driving in forwards.

I then spent the rest of the day putting back all the stuff in the cupboards and racks. I've got so much rag old Tshirts etc. to have my own jumble sale I will have to use rag more liberally in the future to get rid of it. All in all I am very pleased with the end result and the only job left is to paint the framework of garage door in grey etching primer this should not take too long and has to be done from the inside with the doors shut which can be done on a miserable day.

I knocked off at five as the boys etc. wanted to Skype a little earlier this Sunday. They all seemed well and it looks as if life for them is slowly creeping back to normal. So much so that we are planning on them all visiting us in the next couple of weeks.

It will be nice to see the family again as we have not seen the Grandchildren since Christmas but other than this as imprisonment ends Ros and I are not going to rush in where angels fear to tread. So we will take it easy and see how things settle in before we really start going out again.

My friend Roger who emails me his daily notes and gave me inspiration for writing mine has decided to stop his scrbblings on his one hundredth day. He is a couple of days ahead of me as my one hundredth day is tomorrow. It is coincidental that I said to Ros a week or so ago that I would stop writing on the one hundredth day especially as imprisonment seems to be coming to an end subject to a second spike. However I have decided to do an extra day and finish my notes on day one hundred and one which is on the 30th June 2020.

Excluding today's notes I have written forty two thousand two hundred and thirty three words. When I looked this up on Google it is just about equates to the length of a novel as Google says:-

'A story that is over 40,000 words is generally considered a novel. However, it will be on the short side, as the average length of a novel hovers around 50,000 to 70,000 words'.

So with that said a further couple of days will edge me further towards Fifty thousand words. I've enjoyed writing my notes which I always do when we go travelling. I've got notes for ten years of Bentley Camping and ten years of our Backpacking Travels. Perhaps one year I might read them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.