BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 98

Imprisonment - Day ninety eight
Saturday 27th June 2020

Cars - 17
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 2
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 14.0c

A dull morning and a dull ride with few people about. I saw Shorts Man who was showing a great deal of leg with the briefest of shorts I seen for a long time. Crossover Man seems to have disappeared as I didn't see him again today. I tried out my new bike speedo and it gave a reading of 13.78 miles I have adjusted it and will try again tomorrow as it must read 13.76 miles.

Fortunately I could carry on working on the Top Garage and avoid the April showers in June. I started by painting the connecting door from Ros' study and this time I was extremely careful not to cause any damage. It's surprising how white paint turns yellow with age. I dont think this holds true for celulose based paint as when I sprayed the garden furniture the old paint was still as white as the new. After painting the door I cleaned the four cupboards that fit on the wall at the back of the garage. I needed Ros' help to fix them up as the double unit was quite heavy. I could have 'blown the bloody doors off' to make them lighter but decided to leave them on as with at bit of extra effort lifting them it saved what would have been unnecessary work. With cupboards up I started to fill them with all the things I'd forgotten I'd got but might need one day if I can remember I've got them. I then moved onto the shelving that goes underneath the cupboards. Theses shelves were of mixed origin and colour so I decided to paint them dark grey. I took some of the grey oil based floor paint and added the leftover black waterbased emulsion. I stirred it with fingers crossed and oil and water does seem to mix and on top of that it gave a very agreeable dark shade of grey. It also seemed to dry well too in the sunshine between the showers. While waiting for the shelves to dry ready for a second coat I second coated the radiator which I had refilled with Ros' help holding the funnel with the water I'd drained from it when I took it off. I saved this water as it contains a rust inhibitor which I did not want to waste.

Tomorrow will be taken up by giving another coat to the shelving and putting back the rest of the stuff I'd taken out and I may well then be able to get the cars back in.

I finished slightly later tonight and Ros was itching for a glass of Prosecco which we usually have shortly after six.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.