Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Like dancing ballerinas

After a very busy week last week, Gavin had a much quieter day today so he joined me on my walk with Xena today. I had envisioned that now that she is in her fertile stage of her season I would have all the male dogs in the neighbourhood following us on the walk, but we only saw one other dog on the walk and he ignored Xena!

I went grocery shopping and then we had a quick lunch before heading off to RHS Wisley as I had booked tickets a few weeks ago to go there now that it is open again. It all felt quite normal to be out and about today, the car park was very full but once inside the gardens it did not seem too busy and I did not feel as if anyone was too close to me. I only saw one person wearing a mask, I think generally people realise that in open spaces they are not necessary if you keep your distance.

The gardens were stunning! I am sure the staff have been maintaining them throughout lockdown, and the summer flowers on display were so beautiful - huge dahlias, plenty of different coloured lilies, echinacea, salvia, echinops and eryngiums (sea holly) to name a few. I have blipped echinacea as I always think of a ballerina in her skirt when I see these flowers, and because it was so windy today the one petal has blown across like a sash.

The main reason to visit the gardens was to see the new South African Meadow display - well South Africa does not really have meadows, it would be more accurate to say wild flowers of the veldt. I have added an extra of the display and you can see the spiky Berkheya daisies and some orange watsonia (aka bugle lily). We had some take away coffees and then went to their garden centre where we bought some echinacea plants for our garden. From past experience I have found that their plants are very good quality and they do very well in the garden.

With just Gavin and I at home now we will have a very light supper tonight so I better go organise that now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.