Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hydrangea

It has rained all day. We had a very soggy dog walk this morning and I don't know who came home more disgruntled, Xena or me!

My garden is looking lovely at the moment - it peaks at this time of year and then for the rest of the year it looks awful. However the men repairing the water feature in the garden had to dig up many plants to get to the pipes which has upset me, I hope the plants survive when they finally replant them again. At least in the rain the plants are being kept well hydrated, if it was this time last week they probably would have all died out of the ground in that heat.

When my mother died, her death certificate recorded her as married even though my stepdad had died many years previously (and my father died even many more years prior to that). This was an error due to the incompetence of the department of births, deaths and marriages in South Africa or whatever they are called these days - and they had no record of my stepdad's death, which they had lost. So my mother's estate could not be wound up and it became really difficult to get it sorted. So it was no surprise when we heard today that Gavin's mother's death certificate also records her as being married when in fact his dad has also died many years ago. I have always known that government departments in SA are totally incompetent but this is just ridiculous, we are not sure how we will be able to sort this one out now. 

Not a day for photos in the rain today so a quick walk around the garden where these wet hydrangeas caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.