Jezebella

By Jezebella

Breckland

It's been such a long time since I last posted a photograph - October 2019!  I hope I do better this time as I've enjoyed looking back over my first 65 images and remembering exactly how I came to take each one.

I'm drawn to architecture, city infrastructure, landscapes, flowers and street photography, although I'm rubbish at 'street' because I'm too slow and too diffident.

Today's image is of the Breckland, an area which extends from the south of the county of Norfolk into the north of Suffolk, one of the driest areas in the UK, populated by sandy gorse-covered land and the Scots pine. 
 
My walk took me through plantations of pine and deciduous trees toward's the Warrener's Lodge (see extra pic) which dates from the 13th century.  Rabbits were introduced into this country by the Normans and, as the animal provided both meat and fur, rabbit breeding became an important industry in the Brecklands, managed by the warrener who had one of the highest paid jobs on the estate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.