Skip's Blips

By Skip

Bluebird family

I don't know how it happened, but yesterday the house sparrows somehow took over the bluebird house. In the morning the adult male bluebird was  sitting on top of the house as usual. He would fly away, then return, and I was hoping bluebirds would settle in the nest and raise a family. To my alarm, later that day, the bluebird was nowhere to be seen and two house sparrows had taken over the nest. I was not a happy home owner because I had high hopes of  "renting" that house to a bluebird family. After all, the sparrows were already nesting in the other two bird houses in our back garden.

This morning I looked out back at the nesting box, hoping Mr. Bluebird would be perched on top of the house and flying around the garden as he has been every day for several weeks. Unfortunately he wasn't there...but the house sparrow was!  And that's the way the situation remained until late this afternoon when I sat down with my camera on the patio to watch the action in the garden. As you can see from today's blip (and extra), my camera captured some very unexpected action. Apparently the bluebird family has grown. Boy was I surprised! I wonder what will happen tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.