First Monarch on Milkweed!

So a few years ago, we discovered a single milkweed plant at the front of our hedge. And when monarch caterpillars were born there, we ended up bringing them MORE milkweed from other places to eat. And we even transplanted a few milkweed plants from up on the hill.

This summer, I am happy to report that our milkweed patch is up to nearly two dozen plants. They are tall and strong and healthy and green. IDEAL habitat for monarch caterpillars!

You can only imagine my delight, late in the afternoon, when I took Dexter out to sit in the car, and I spotted an orange butterfly flitting all about. AND THEN IT LANDED ON MY MILKWEED!!!!! I ran for the camera!

I am happy to report that the butterfly stayed for a few minutes, long enough for maybe a dozen shots, a few of them even decent. I don't know if it was a male or a female, but yes, I admit I did look for eggs after it left. I did not see any.

So here is a photo of my first monarch sighting of the year. And it is so fitting that it would appear here, of all places, in my very own yard, on those plants that we grew JUST FOR IT. Hooray!! Hooray!

The song is this one: Bruce Springsteen, with For You, live at the Hammersmith Odeon. The recording is a bit dark and I have to admit I giggled when I saw this comment, which is spot on: To see Bruce in this video, "you gotta look hard."  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.