Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Ringlet

It was meant to be a simple walk to the shops, there and back, along through Bonnyfield Nature Reserve and then back home along the Canal. In fact, it was the walk I did today. What made it different was my encounter with a group of dog walkers in the nature reserve.

There were about six or seven of them, older people with about the same number of dogs, all of whom seemed also not to be in the first flush of youth. The humans blocked the path as they had a blether and the dogs went exploring and doing what dogs do. "Excuse me," I shouted (politely!) as I approached, "Can I get past please?"

"Oh, hello Ivar," one replied, "Wasn't expecting to see you here!"
My cousin.
I realised that I was probably around the same age as most of the walkers. My cousin and I had a blether for a short while before the group moved off. I walked along with M and continued our chat, stopping every few dozen yards as the dogs discovered something else to explore in depth. It was a slow walk.

Because we were having a family chat I didn't stop to take photos. On my way back from the shops I didn't have much time for photos either, as I had to get back in time to receive a phone call, but I did manage to grab a photo of this Ringlet butterfly along the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.