Paul'sPix

By PaulShelley

Stuart's Par 50

Walking round the golf course today I bumped into Stuart who I hadn't seen since before the lockdown. The golf course had been closed and only recently was allowed to open up again. Meanwhile he had been furloughed but is delighted to now be back at work again tending the fairways.

I reminded him that he had retired in 2013 and that he had come back as assistant green keeper. I had taken a photo of him about 3 years ago burning leaves in a November dusk and apparently that picture made it onto the club's calendar for that year. I thought it was a Blip - but I've looked and  I cant find it.

Stuart  recounted to us that as a student he had qualified in textile design. I suggested that didn't have much to do with golf course management but he rightly pointed out that mowing a green is an art with many intricate design possibilities.

And the par 50? Well, this is Stuart's 50th year working at Woodford Golf course. A terrific record of keeping this part of Epping Forest in immaculate condition. What an achievement.

Reminder to self: I must see if I can get hold of a copy of that calendar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.