pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Jay walk

Another thing I love about working from home is the absence of any commute. 

The computer gets turned off promptly and in seconds I am out the door for a wander and a break from a screen. Tonight’s wander didn’t even feature any music playing in my ears! I know! Crazy, right? Whaddayagonnado?

It’s been a day, but it finished on a good note by giving a colleague; who has been having a tough time, a call and just shooting the breeze for a little while. We had a bit of a laugh and the usual chat about the state of……..everything. 

There was a stillness and sense of calm this evening (maybe partially attributable to the second hand weed smoke I walked through) with the absence of headphones allowing bird song to penetrate my battered eardrums, I have no idea which birds they belong to, but they did get a fine job of soundtracking my perambulation.

I came back through the graveyard again, pausing briefly to watch two squirrels either fight, cuddle or mate (it was pretty violent) before one of them rested upon this headstone – see extra. 

Moving on, something swooped in from the edge of my peripheral view and I saw that it was this little thing, which took time to pose – also on a headstone, I’m not usually this morbid and do not advocate posing on headstones for photos – for me. I must confess that at the time I had no idea what it was and without m’boy with me to sigh, roll his eyes and say “it’s a jay, Daddy”, I had to use a real life, actual book to look it up and find out. 

Apparently a jay is a woodland crow – everyday is a school day….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.