All about me

Monday. My camera had this photo so I guess I was out over there. I remember now - a morning of admin tasks, ie writing a few text messages, followed by some gelcoat repair. And the son got in touch to say he’d got me a present to celebrate the upcoming. And he had - all the way from Waterstones, newly opened, to which he had indeed travelled, a book entitled 1956. Which was indeed a momentous year.
Popular uprisings in Poland and Hungary .... across the American South, and in the Union of South Africa, black people... in the struggle to dismantle institutionalised white supremacy …. France and Britain…  battling anti-colonial insurgencies in Algeria and Cyprus, now face the humiliation of Suez.….in Cuba, Fidel Castro and his band of rebels plot the overthrow of a dictator... 1956 was one of the most remarkable years of the twentieth century.
(And let us not forget Elvis’s first number one and Hearts winning the cup for the first time in fifty years).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.