CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'Hippies use side door' of The Crown and Sceptre

I was first in the queue this afternoon for one of the 'homemade' takeaway Thai curries at The Crown and Sceptre. They are limited edition meals made by Katie, and sell out quickly. As I turned to leave the 'shop' in the back bar, I spotted the signs and dropped my bags, grabbed my camera and got my blip! 

As I've mentioned before this is our local pub and the landlord, Rodda Thomas, has transformed it into a local shop which also sells ales of course. Katie has been the cook there for many years and she was in the bar when I turned up. Rodda hailed me and made me welcome as usual. They have a pub garden and today the marquee was being erected there so that he can have a bar in the garden. Rodda often creates events and uses the marquee for cider festivals, Stroud Fringe Festival music events and any chance he can to organise fun! 

I hope the re-opening of the pub restores his fortunes. The pub has been much missed as a drinking venue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.