Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Bright Chimney

Every now and again I am wont to go off on some photographic kick for a month. I do it to retrain my eye more than anything else. After 50 years I can honestly say I have tried most things at one time or another … it's just that one forgets and needs to be reminded about what works and what doesn't.

"Seeing" potentially useful mono images is not always easy. Colour so often distracts from form, light, shadow and texture such that one can't see where the soul of a subject is really coming from. I find it can help to preview the results in black and white from the get go. This month (when something more immediate doesn't present itself) my cameras will be set to mono jpegs + raw and the theme (for ME at least) will be "minimalism". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.