horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Vigilante

I attended the vigil this morning for James Harrison, a 36 year-old husband, father of two, and ICU Nurse, who died when hit by a driver riding home from a shift a week ago today.

In an 8 day period James was killed; another cyclist is in a serious condition in hospital after being hit (and carried on the bonnet turning through a junction, and down the road) by a driver; a 7 year old boy was hit on the High Street near where we live; and a 3 year old boy was killed when he and his mum were hit by a driver on the pavement just walking about some shops.

I make no apologies for being angry about this. Especially when three of the incidents happened in 20mph zones; two of them in areas that are proposed for limiting parking (and as a knock on have less people driving to them, using alternative means where they can, leaving space for those who can't) have had complaints from people who have no desire to be informed of the benefits and instead shout to maintain the status quo; and the two people on bikes at exact locations that have had safety concerns raised in the past that have been ignored.

No. I'm not angry. I'm fucking livid. I also make no apologies for my language.

Yesterday I got some local action on Twitter to start pushing Councillors for change (one of them, unsurprisingly a Tory, simply labels people who want safety as 'hard left' or the 'cycling lobby', and dismisses any concerns that way - miring the Council is endless consultation that results in almost no change whatsoever). I ended up speaking to someone for the radio about it, but not sure it'll get on the airwaves.

After years of sitting on the sidelines after being frustrated at not being able to get action, however, I'm feeling the need to shout. The world has gone mad, and I'm about ready to get mad right back at it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.