Shadow-clad

Shadow-clad, with ivy:
tree-trunk in the sun.

Leaves - thieves of light:
summer has begun.

© CW 2020


Turned into a lovely day - and not just because the sun finally broke through. First, Mr PP went to U3A Archery (rescheduled from wet Tuesday) after recently resuming with lots of new health and safety rules, that doubtless include No Singing.

Then he picked up my mended glasses on his way (out of his way) home from the recently half-reopened optician's. (I trod on my reading glasses a few weeks ago when vacuuming; the cable must've dragged them from the tabletop and placed them underfoot.) Forty quid for new 'sides'. (When did they stop calling them 'arms'?)

Meanwhile, I cut my hair again, for the third time in three months. (I take off less at one go than a hairdresser would.) At least my self-haircut savings cover the cost of my glasses' repair.

Then, this afternoon, we had the lovely surprise of a visit from Mr PP's schoolfriend (and Best Man at our wedding nearly 45 years ago!) and his wife. So lovely to see them unexpectedly - really cheered us up. We put the world to rights - which isn't an easy thing to do in the present climate. (Oh, and I was asked where I'd had my hair cut - I think that's cos it looked professional, as it wasn't followed by, Are you suing them?)

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday. Enjoyed choosing a square crop from my photo and playing with colour and contrast. The shadow of the leaves on the tree-trunk, in between ivy stems, should give a clue as to the sort of tree it was. Perhaps a rowan?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.