Tony's Pal Roy

I did a similar ride to yesterday because it was such a change from the forest. This time I was determined to stop at a house with a particularly shambolic garden near Toot Hill. I have ridden past it for the last 30 years and always been puzzled by the random heaps of old machinery, planks, coal and household equipment. And yet the garden on the other side is well tended with flowers and vegetables. I have never seen anybody there  and as I was on my own, today was the day.

I pulled up outside and was rather put off by a visitor's car in the drive , complete with little dog keeping guard. But it was now or never so I rang the bell on the half open door and called out. After a few moments an elderly gent came to the porch on a frame with a heavily bandaged leg. I explained myself and asked if I could take a picture. He obliged but it wasn't sharp so I havn't used it. I established that his name is Tony. He has lived there for about 40 years.

He called back into the house and his pal Roy appeared. He was another cheerful chappy who now lives along the lane but originally came from close to me so we had a good chat. He calls by every day to check on his chum. He was happy to be snapped so here you have him, standing in front of one of Tony's several derelict sheds. 

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday.

This one isn't properly sharp either * so I feel I have to go back to see if I can get a  retake. Very amateurish. I couldn't handle the pressure on professionals who only have the one chance to get it right.


* In my defence, the camera only came back from a repair with Fujifilm last week and they have reset the buttons so I was pressing the wrong one for focus lock. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.