Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Kiwifruit

Still enjoying playing with the Photoshop's PS Camera (PsC) app. This is a slice of kiwifruit - and therein lies a funny story:

Last week I ordered a delivery of various grocery items from Whole Foods Market. The order arrived and everything we ordered was present and accounted for except the three ears of corn I had ordered for The Husband - who loves corn on the cob. But included in the order were three kiwifruits, which we had not ordered. I took this to be some kind of weird error - but when I looked online at my order I could plainly see that the kiwis had been sent to us as a SUBSTITUTE for the corn that was apparently unavailable. They didn't charge us for them, which was nice, but we've been scratching our heads ever since wondering on what planet kiwifruit is a substitute for corn on the cob! Surely if you were trying to substitute something for fresh corn you would choose - oh I don't know - frozen corn? Or some other long yellow vegetable (yellow squash?). And, mind you, when you place the order there is a place to mark things NO SUBSTITUTE, or to choose among possible substitutes. I had marked it NO SUBSTITUTE. What. On. Earth. ??

We did eat the kiwis. It took them a while to get properly ripe, but we ate the last one this morning - after its photoshoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.