Lines and Curves

Our gardener sent a man to clear all the remaining brush in the field and clean out branches and leaves from underneath the oak trees...a big fire hazard and a relief to have it done. We gave him almost all of our cash on hand...we haven't actually handled cash in quite awhile so it should have been quite free of any virus. I don't think the same can be said about the poison oak underneath the oak trees. John warned him that it was there.

An energetic guy named Jerry came by to measure our doors for new retractable screens. The ones we have now have been well trashed by dogs and people walking through them when they are closed. I told Jerry that Blake had perfected the art of opening them by simply bashing through them. Jerry's advice, 'don't open the door'. 

I finished Stephanie's quilt top. Setting the squares on the diagonal and sewing the whole thing together proved to a challenge to my scant ability to deal with spatial relationships. I loved geometry in school, but I have forgotten more about it than I ever learned, and I wound up remaking and tweaking a number of squares to get them to fit properly at all. I'm taking some time off to reprogram my brain before I decide whether to put a border on it.

That's the excitement from here. As the Covid cases continue to rise alarmingly, 19 of California's counties have been ordered back to phase whatever it was before they opened the restaurants and bars. Sonoma County was not one of them, but our health officer says if things continue as they are, she feels sure we will be put on a 'watch list' by the governor. Whatever that means. It doesn't bode well before the 4th of July holiday weekend when the current rise in cases is at least in part attributable to the reckless gatherings of the Memorial Day weekend at the end of May.

As Dr Antony Fauci says, 'we're all in this together',  but it's certainly beginning to feel as if we're all on our own...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.