dreaming

By dreaming

A bit of a glow

It was really chilly here today, at the beginning of July.  I awoke shivering and spent the day in a sweatshirt, not my usual summer attire.  Tomorrow is supposed to be only slightly better.  I don't want to turn on the heat in July!  It was a nothing day, not much accomplished, spent time reading, doing chores, sitting with Minkelina.  Had a phone conversation with Gena and Terri, which brightened my day somewhat.  

A link in an Email I received this morning took me to Martin Luther King's Letter from a Birmingham Jail, which I'd never read before.  It's a remarkably eloquent and well-reasoned piece of writing that really resonates today.  If you've not read it, you might want to: 
https://www.africa.upenn.edu/Articles_Gen/Letter_Birmingham.html
I'm still reeling from reading Kendall's description of the police brutality during a quiet protest in Portland, and pondering her notion that there is an undeclared civil war going on in which only one side has weapons.  It's troubling to think of, but I so appreciate Kendall making it impossible to look away and be complacent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.