simisue

By simisue

PLUMINARIA RUBRA: Red Frangipani

When I saw this plant in full bloom, along the sidewalk in our neighborhood, I used my new APP, PICTURETHIS to identify it.  Since the APP has given me several different results in the past, I checked with a friend from Hawaii.  She verified that it is Red Frangipani.  

I was surprised to see this tropical plant thriving in our dry sizzling heat, but it actually does like full sun.  I thought it must be native to the South Pacific Islands because they use it to make leis.  Instead, it is native to Central & South America.  In fact, it is the national flower of Nicaragua, is called, "sacuanjoche,' & blooms in the Summer & Fall.  It is more common in tropical & subtropical climates, which explains why it has become naturalized in Southeast Asia, where it is considered sacred.

The flowers have a fruity, peachy scent or even gardenia-like smell.
Extracts are used in cosmetics & soaps.  The common name
"Frangipani" was coined by a 16th century Italian nobleman, who 
 may or may not have invented a perfume with the essence of this flower.

My friend grows it in big pots, near her pool.  When it finishes blooming & looses its leaves in the Fall. she tucks the pots in a protected corner.  It is easy to take care of, & is resistant to almost all pests & diseases.

It sure is pretty, & I am happy to enjoy it as we walk the dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.