Kuaka (The Bar-tailed Godwit)

Today dawned (if that word actually applies) in much the same way as did yesterday. Dreich. Grey, dull, misty, drizzly rain, windy. A little cooler than yesterday, but still not cold. Humid. Uninspiring as far as encouraging me on a morning run, especially with the forecast being for a sunny afternoon.

So; sneaked a bit more sleep, before getting off to Auckland for a day in the office. Hit the crawl into the city just before Greville Road. As I had given myself 2 hours for what is normally a 50 minute drive, there was no pressure. Then the first appointment didn't turn up; later got an emailed explanation. Then the second rang to say he had family issues and could he reschedule. Great morning. At least I was able to complete a report for the Court.

The rest of the appointments were as arranged, and I left in time to collect the boys from their school, and head north to the beachhouse where we are having a family day tomorrow. All good until a pause in Warkworth for a few supplies. Bad call; cooped up in a car for 45 minutes does not co-operative boys make!

The consequence was that on arrival here I needed to clear my head with a run, and leave Granny S to manage exuberant lads for a while. Well, she was a secondary school teacher, so small boys should be a breeze. Right? Actually, they are very good for her.

Anyway, back down to the Snells Beach front, and the waders arriving for the evening snacks. Gulls of course, herons, oystercatchers, maybe some terns.

And then came a flock of kuaka. Distinctly different in their flight, I was able to spot the distinctive shape of their bill, and got quite excited by it. (Yes; I wrote that; I. Was. Excited. By. Birds.) They kept circling and then eventually landed. Just before I had the camera focussed, they took off again, and my photo is of them flying away. I will put that in my blipfolio.

This photo was taken on their second circuit. Before their brief landing. Kuaka breed in Eurasia and Alaska. They migrate to New Zealand estuaries and sandy beaches as well as the shores of coastal lakes. "Proper" name is Limosa lapponica.

ADDED: Best in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.