LOCK DOWN DAY 102

The last day before the hoards of holiday makers descend on Cornwall tomorrow (80,000 of them apparently) so off I went for my 'first thing in the morning walk' around town to see what was happening. Nothing much was happening. There were lots of maintenance people/workers doing jobs. It was a beautiful sunny morning and I had the beach all to myself. The car parks were all pretty empty too. …................Bet it won't be like that tomorrow?!

Anyway because our weather app was showing rain from 3pm this afternoon, at about 11.30am off I went for (a two and a half hour walk) my afternoon walk in the morning. We walked all the way to Lelant on the pavement and all the way back along the coastal path. And very nice it was too. However not sure how 'social distancing' will work on the coastal path because the section between Lelant and Carbis Bay was very overgrown and there was absolutely no way that anyone could remain even one metre apart whilst passing. It didn't matter today because we didn't meet anyone.

This evening we were supposed to be going to the beach so that the humans could drink wine I could have a play with my little friend Ruby, the Cavapoo. But it's actually chucking it down with rain so I've just popped out to the field for toileting purposes and now Ann's drinking wine alone I'm having a snooze.

It's actually quite scary to think that the population of St Ives is going to more than double within 24 hours. And the weather forecast isn't that great for tomorrow either which means that there will be lots of grumpy holiday makers around. After working in the hospitality industry for more than 20 years, Ann knows that holiday makers are always grumpy if the weather is bad.

80 thousand people all driving down the A30 in the rain, not being able to get into their holiday accommodation until 7pm (to allow for extra cleaning time), not being able to go on the beaches cos it will be too wet and not being able to just walk into a restaurant/pub. It's going to be mayhem! My human is so glad that she doesn't work in a holiday letting agency anymore.

Anyway, it's not our problem so we won't worry about it.

I've just gobbled up all my dinner, Ann's dinner is in the oven cooking and we have 'Coronation Street' and 'Vera' to watch on TV tonight and then it will be bedtime.

Happy Friday night peeps. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.