Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Great Northern "Circus Boxcar" train

Today we had a new visitor to this layout.  The Great Northern railroad ran through town with their Circus Boxcar train.  In 1956 GN actually painted ten boxcars in different schemes and heralds.  They sent them around their network and got employee input as to which was the best.  They were called "Circus Cars" because of the bright colors and different heralds (logos).  Since it was a special train, the GN added a couple of express cars to the front.

I know that these cars are very collectable.  When their plastic MicroTrain boxes are never opened and never put on the track, they are crazy valuable.   Look for them on eBay and you will be shocked at the asking price for the ten cars here.  Now - understand that I am a runner and not a collector so I use them.  I just like the cars so I run them.  My railroad, my rules.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.