SILLY SATURDAY IN HONOUR OF ADMIRER

Most of the time I took part in the Silly Saturday challenge, but if something else came up, then I didn’t, but I couldn’t miss this one, as the first Saturday in each month is going to be designated in honour of Admirer who started this challenge back in October 2016.  

Knowing this was “on the cards”, I have been wondering all week what to do - and must admit it was quite difficult - not only did I not have much inspiration, but I felt sad that Admirer is no longer with us.  Then I realised that was totally negative thinking and could almost hear Admirer’s voice saying, “Come on, step up - you can do this - surprise me with your silliness”!  

So after my shower this morning and of course, wearing my pink robe, which as many of you know has a life of its own on Blip, I wandered into our spare room to look out over the garden to see if I could find inspiration.  In the corner of the room is our Christmas tree, complete with lights and even baubles, that now resides in there all year from January to November, to save us getting it all down from the loft and redecorating it.  It is swathed in a light plastic sheet and looked rather forlorn, but once I had added a few props, it looked quite silly and I think Admirer would have smiled.  I hope you didn’t think that Mr. HCB was “under wraps” - now that would have been silly!

Of course, JH Ted wanted to be in on the act, especially as he has featured in so many Silly Saturday Blips, but we wanted to be sure we were protecting him, hence the mask, made by our lovely next-door neighbour, Lynn. However, even that is silly, whoever heard of a Christmas tree spreading germs?? ;-) 

I wasn’t even thinking of a selfie, but when I asked Mr. HCB what he thought, he asked if I wanted my selfie stick to do one!  “What?  Another Silly Saturday Selfie?”, I asked - and he said that if I was going to do it, then I should give it my best shot, and of course, he was right.  

I’m not sure that this photograph is my "best shot", but I hope that everyone who takes part in Silly Saturday today will remember how friendly,  encouraging and delighted Admirer was with the silliest of photographs.  The hearts surrounding it are for her, so Rest in Peace, dear lady, and if they Blip in heaven, then I’m sure you will have started another challenge up there and I know that you would agree wholeheartedly with this quote.

“Being silly is still allowed, 
     not excluded by adulthood. 
What’s excluded by adulthood 
     is thoughtlessness, 
          so be thoughtful and silly.”
Hank Green

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.