Beauty in unexpected places.

Self seeding poppies. When I clear the borders after the summer flowers have finally finished, I take the dead stems of the poppies with their dried leaves and seed-heads, to shake around the garden.  
I am always amazed that something so infinitesimally small as a poppy seed can grow such a lovely, if ephemeral, beauty. 
   As I went to collect the trail camera from behind the shed, next to the compost bins and old stacked garden chairs, this lovely splash of colour greeted me. 
There are more to come yet, and the bees were loving them! 
The extra photo is of the 1000 piece jigsaw which has taken us months, bit by bit. Our Lockdown one you could call it, although Stephen bought it for me from the local charity shop when I was recuperating  from the last operation at the end of November. 
  We bought a board specially from an on-line shop. 
Other things then intervened, and we began it in earnest during March. 
Good for concentrating the mind! And Stephen's recuperation from his two weeks in hospital! 
In those early days of Lockdown we were all having to come to terms with the fact that this was actually happening and it had become a pandemic.
As we placed the final piece last night, it felt good! 
   Now he's talking of getting another one!!        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.