Seelye

By Seelye

Farmer's Market

I really enjoy this Saturday morning venture. The vendors become so important and wonderful as you converse with them each week. There are vendors indoors now and also the ones that stick it out in the outdoor heat too. One of my favorite vendors has not been in the market for a few weeks. They have been in their tent for years selling these fabulous Italian foods. They are in their 70's so I am feeling worried for them because of Covid and how pervasive it is in Phoenix right now.

So here it is the 4th of July in the U.S.A and it all feels so weird, difficult, sad, and a few rays of hope too. I have read today how citizen's in 1776 pulled down a statue of King George III in Bowling Green, a park in lower Manhattan after having the Declaration of Independence read to them. They put the head on a spike and it was later taken down and sent to England. The rest of the statue was melted down and made over 42,000 bullets for the colonies.

One fellow blip follower today Michaelwardlow, spoke of altruism. Kendallishere's blip mentions kindness. We all want it, it's such a challenge to achieve.

I normally put out 2 little flags for my parents but today feels so different. So I put out one for the two of them and put it with my Cleopatra statue, (see extra.) A white version of Cleopatra. She was in a friend's yard for years and when they moved I received her. I am fond of her because she's saucy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.