Seelye

By Seelye

Great Horned Owls

That is the closet description they match but they don't have yellow eyes. Arizona has 13 owl species and these don't look like the other 12 species so I am perplexed.

My neighbor Laura and I left at 5:30 a.m. to walk Lolo. We were on our community property getting ready to go out the back gate when we heard an owl. I moved around this tree looking up and spotted the larger one and then saw the 2nd one. This was HUGELY exciting to me. The male just stared at me, at least it felt like it. Many cultures consider them to be a bad omen, often death. The European culture thinks the opposite so I will side with them.

The extra is of the female, the larger of the two. It hours later and I am still ecstatic that I saw them. Nature is so mind blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.